My Favorite Type of Sunday

I love Sunday’s like this.  I woke up at 7:30am and started enjoying my day.  We were suppose to go to the beach but with the overcast until close to Noon we decided against it.

My husband and I started our day with a 3 mile run and a trip to the the gym for some strength training.  I do have to say today’s run was just as difficult as yesterday’s and it was only 3 miles. At one point my heart rate got all the way up to 170 bmp, that rarely happens.  Even when I am running on the Brooklyn Bridge.  It was challenging but good nonetheless.  Once we were at the gym, it was chest and triceps day for me.  This is what I did:

  • Chest Press w/ 30lb bar – 3 sets of 10
  • Chest Flys w/ 20lb dumbells- 3 sets of 10
  • Chest Press w/ 20lb dumbells- 3 sets of 10

In between those sets I did abs:

  • V-ins – rep of 25
  • Toe touching crunches – rep of 25
  • Bicycles- rep of 25
  • Reverse crunches- rep of 15

Then I moved on to triceps exercises

  • Skull-crushers- bar was 25lbs and then I added 2.5lbs on each side-  3 sets of 10
  • Triceps dips- 3 sets of 8
  • Overhead triceps- 3 sets of 20 (10 lb kettle ball)

Same set of abs as above in-between each set.

To end the workout I took a resistance ball and did pike touches- 3 sets of 12

By the end my arms were jiggling… LOVED IT!

I love to run but I LOVE strength training! I feel so strong when I am done.

Then the rest of the day was spent meal planning, grocery shopping and laundry.  Just a normal Sunday.  It was great.

For dinner I took a recipe for Kun Po Shrimp.  I added brown rice to it.  Turned out great.  I realized at the end that there were no veggies, so now I know for next time to add some broccoli or something similar.  Here is my plate with a yummy glass of red wine.

IMG_0939

Now the day is winding down.  I still need to fold the laundry and then to wrap up the night a little Entourage!! I love me some Vinnie Chase!

 

Leave a Reply

